The Board of Trustees is elected by the Governing Membership of the International Space University.  The Board of Trustees determines ISU's overall objectives and oversees the University's affairs.

Dr. Christian Sallaberger, Chairman

Institutional Members:

ASI (Gabriella Arrigo), CSA (Jean-Claude Piedboeuf), CASC (Fanpei Lei), CNES (Donato Giorgi), DLR (Nicola Rohner-Willsch), ESA (Hugo Maree), Heinlein Prize Trust (Buckner Hightower), Inmarsat (Ramin Khadem), Isle of man Government, Israel Space Agency (Ofer Lapid), JAXA (Seishiro Kibe), NASA (Tom Cremins), Alumni Representative (Julio Aprea).

Corporate Members:

Airbus Defence and Space (Alain Wagner), Boeing (John Shannon), Canadensys Aerospace (Christian Sallaberger), Lockheed Martin (Randall Sweet), Manx  Precision Optics Ltd. (Helmut Kessler), O3B (Andrew Browne), Odyssey Space Research (Brian Rishikof), SES (Romain Bausch), The Aerospace Corporation (Dave Bearden).

Individual Members:

Michael Davis, Art Dula, Siamak Khorram, Johannes Ortner, Robert Richards (Founder), Chris Stott.

It shall be the duty and responsibility of the Board of Advisors to advise and consult with the Board of Trustees, officers and administration, and faculty on such matters as they may seek such guidance and counsel.

Mr. Buzz Aldrin, NASA Astronaut (ret.), Chairman

Mr. George W. S. Abbey, Rice University
Prof. Oleg Alifanov, Moscow Aviation Institute
Prof. Ali Al-Mashat, Director, Arabsat (ret.)
Mr. Marcio N. Barbosa, UNESCO (ret.)
Mr. Pierre Betin, SNECMA (ret.)
Dr. Roger Bonnet, International Space Science Institute
Dr. Peter H. Diamandis, ISU Co-Founder, X-Prize
Dr. Hansjörg Dittus, DLR
Dr. Roland Doré, past President ISU
Mr. Jay Honeycutt, Lockheed Martin  (ret.)
Dr. Nandasiri Jasentuliyana, United Nations (ret.)
Dr. Krishnaswamy Kasturirangan, Indian Space Research Organization
Mr. Jean-Yves LeGall, CNES
Prof. Reimar Lüst, Max Planck Institute for Meteorology
Mr. Michael Potter, Paradigm Ventures
Mr. Lon Rains, Northrop Grumman
Dr. U. R. Rao, Indian Space Research Organization
Mr. Ken Reightler, US Naval Academy
Mr. Keiji Tachikawa, JAXA
Mr. Eric Tilenius, Tilenius Ventures
Ms. Barbara Wood

The ISU Academic Council is responsible for ensuring the academic quality of the teaching and research activities of ISU. The Council has created a set of policies and standards for the faculty within the overall guidelines established by the Board of Trustees and in cooperation with the President of the University. The role, rules, and processes of the Academic Council are provided in Appendix A of the ISU Academic Handbook, which can be downloaded here.

To ensure integration of policies between the Academic Advisory Committee of the BOT and the Executive Officers of ISU, the AAC Chair as well as the President of ISU and the Academic Officers (the Dean, Associate Dean and the Program Directors) are permanent invitees to the Academic Council. The Academic Council is represented on the Board of Trustees and the BOT Academic Advisory Committee. The current members of the Academic Council are listed below.


Su-Yin Tan (Canada), Chair of the Academic Council, University of Waterloo, Canada
Juan De Dalmau (Spain), Co-Chair of the Academic Council, European Space Agency, The Netherlands

Carol Carnett, Legal Aid Bureau Inc., USA
Adil Rahim Jafry (US), Chandah Space Technologies, USA
John Logsdon (US), George Washington University (ret.), USA
Gary Martin (US), NASA Ames Research Center, USA
Lucy Stojak (Canada), HEC Montréal, Canada
Olga Zhdanovich, MODIS, Netherlands
Vasilis Zervos (Greece), International Space University, France



ISU Academic Handbook v3.1 - Download Here


The CARE makes recommendations on all issues regarding appointment, performance, evaluation, and advancement of Resident Faculty members and title assignment at recruitment. It also makes recommendations on the appointment or dismissal, performance, evaluation, and titles of ISU Faculty.

The Dean, the Chair of the Academic Council, and the Chair of the Academic Advisory Committee of the Board of Trustees jointly nominate the Chair of CARE. The Chair is appointed for a period of three years by the President of ISU and reports to the President of ISU.

This Committee is established by the Dean and includes members selected from the Faculty of ISU who hold the rank of Full Professor and individuals from external organizations who hold the rank of Full Professor or the equivalent. Members of CARE should be internationally known individuals highly regarded within their discipline.

Read more ...