Academic Council

The ISU Academic Council is responsible for ensuring the academic quality of the teaching and research activities of ISU. The Council has created a set of policies and standards for the faculty within the overall guidelines established by the Board of Trustees and in cooperation with the President of the University. The role, rules, and processes of the Academic Council are provided in Appendix A of the ISU Academic Handbook, which can be downloaded from the ISU web site.


To ensure integration of policies between the Academic Advisory Committee of the BOT and the Executive Officers of ISU, the AAC Chair as well as the President of ISU and the Academic Officers (the Dean, Associate Dean and the Program Directors) are permanent invitees to the Academic Council. The Academic Council is represented on the Board of Trustees and the BOT Academic Advisory Committee.


The current members of the Academic Council are listed below.



Ed Chester (UK), Chair of the Academic Council, University of Leicester, UK

Juan De Dalmau (Spain), European Space Agency, The Netherlands

Stefano Fiorilli (Belgium), European Space Agency, The Netherlands

Jeff Hoffmann (US), MIT, USA

Scott Madry (US), The University of North Carolina and Informatics International, Inc., USA

Gary Martin (US), NASA Ames Research Center, USA

Lucy Stojak (Canada), HEC Montréal, Canada

Nikolai Tolyarenko (Russia), International Space University (retired), France

Vasilis Zervos (Greece), International Space University, France

ISU Academic Handbook v2.2 - Download Here

ISU Academic Council Vision 2040 Document - Download Here